Symphony No. 2

The 25th anniversary edition is now published by UMP Ltd.

Wilkinson Symphony No. 2

Wilkinson Second Symphony
Wilkinson  Symphony No.2

Symphony No. 2 (1998) is scored for large orchestra. The work has four movements and a duration of over 40 minutes.

I.  Allegro non troppo ma molto agitato    

 A darkly intoned, agitated movement establishes a noir soundscape. A solo Clarinet introduces a twelve-tone theme from which melodic fragments pervade not only this movement, but also the entire symphony.

II.  Vivace energico e scherzando 

 The orchestral tone colours expand and rhythmic ostinati build to an exhilarating presitissmo climax.

III.  Adagio – quasi improvisando                                       

 A night piece with jazz-infused melodies on solo winds and muted strings punctuated by heartbeat drumming, a whispered tonal melody is heard as if in premonition.

IV. Allegro agitato – grandioso ma con moto                                   

Erupting in a violent orchestral tutti, fragments of earlier themes are tossed around the orchestra until a central climax halts the momentous music. An eerie, other-worldly calm descends in a sustained pianissimo of shifting tonal centres. Following a declamatory interlude for brass and percussion, the symphony’s main motifs re-emerge tempered by the more settled tonalities recalled from the Adagio in a triumphant, grandiose statement of redemption.

Symphony No. 2 received its world premiere at St. John’s, Smith Square in London in 1998 with the combined Sherborne Orchestras and supporting members of the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra including soloist David Bednall (Organ) conducted by the composer. It is highly recommended for advanced youth orchestra performance.

Symphony No. 2 now joins other orchestral, chamber and solo works in the Wilkinson UMP Ltd. catalogue

“Lucidity of thematic material is a unifying force across four movements . . . Imaginative orchestral perception.” – Roger Pope MBE  FISM

Orchestra parts are available for hire from the publisher.

Full orchestra score available in A4 and A3 formats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *