Orchestral Christmas


Orchestral Christmas O Come All Ye Faithful
Orchestral Christmas – O Come All Ye Faithful

An Orchestral Christmas is not complete without a truly rousing version of O Come All Ye Faithful! This exciting arrangement for orchestra of the traditional melody includes original fanfares and introductions to stylistically diverse arrangements of the verses. On a grand scale, the music is cosmically cinematic, enthralling! It will lift the spirits and, together with audience participation, it will raise the roof!

William Slogrove Singers commissioned the work in 2004, which Richard Hickox then conducted with the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra as part of the annual Christmas concerts at the Lighthouse theatre, Poole Arts Centre, England.

The piece has a duration of approximately 10 minutes.



2 Flutes

2 Oboes

2 Clarinets in Bb

2 Bassoons

4 Horns in F

3 Trumpets in Bb

2 Tenor Trombones

Bass Trombone



2 Percussion (snare drum, cymbals, triangle, wind chimes, tam tam, tubular bell in G)

Organ (optional)

Violin I

Violin II



Double Bass

Audience / Congregation vocal participation

Other Orchestral Works by the Composer from publisher UMP Ltd.

Symphony No. 2 (1998) is a large-scale work in four movements with a duration of over 40 minutes.

Read the full post about Symphony No. 2 that includes audio samples.

Concerto for Flute and Orchestra (1996)

In piano reduction version, the work is now available as repertoire for LTCL recital performance examination.

Read the full post about the Concerto for Flute and Orchestra.

Orchestra works with narration include:

Morte d’Arthur (1995), a musical setting of the poem by Tennyson.

Read the full post about Morte d’Arthur.

Tom Sawyer’s Treasure Adventure (1995) is ideally suited for younger audiences telling a musical story of Tom and Huck’s quest for treasure from Twain’s novel.

Read the full post about Tom Sawyer’s Treasure Adventure.

Vestalia is a balletic work for chamber orchestra evoking the dance of the vestal virgins.

Read the full post about Vestalia.


Other Christmas Music

An arrangement of the Wassail Carol for Brass Quintet comes from Forton Music Publishers.

Read the full post about the Wassail Carol.


See the complete list of publications by Garry Wilkinson.


Read the complete list of compositions by Garry Wilkinson.


Read more about the composer and get in touch with any comments and requests regarding commissioning.


Learn about the Saatchi artist whose cover designs adorn the composer’s publications for UMP Ltd. and more!




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *